We’ve moved to CHEAPENCOUNTERS.COM!!!

My Coke Rewards: The point of these points?

Close Encounters of the Cheap Kind has a new home at www.CheapEncounters.com!

I drink a lot of Diet Coke. I start each morning with one. Another for lunch, another for dinner. Usually at least two to get me through the afternoon.

As many of these as I drink along with my obsessive-compulsive personality, it is no wonder that I am a fan of the My Coke Rewards program. Unique codes are printed inside caps and packs of cans which can be collected and redeemed through their website for various reward items. Over the last year or so, I’ve accumulated about 2600 points, of which I’ve redeemed 1875 points for 3 $25 Visa gift cards.

The codes on 20 oz. and 2-liter bottles are worth 3 points each, the codes on 12 packs are worth 10 points each. But an interesting wrinkle is that you can only entered 10 codes per day, which has created an opportunity for folks like me. There is an active community of traders over on SlickDeals who trade the 3 point codes for 10 point codes at a significant discount (usually 6 to 1). A lot of the traders offering the 3 point caps scavenge caps from college campuses, sports stadiums, and other venues where large numbers of 20 oz. bottles are sold and consumed. Since they can only enter in 10 of those codes per day, they trade for higher point value codes so they can accumulate more points.

Is it really worth my time to trade and enter codes? Probably not, but it makes for an interesting and profitable break during the day.

If you want to get started collecting points, let me know and I can refer you. Don’t want to collect the points? Send them to me! Use the email link to the right to request a referral or donate your codes.

BTW, big thanks for all the codes, Wes!

October 29, 2007 - Posted by | Tips | , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I have a diet Coke junkie house hold member. My complaint is how slow and inefficient the site is. The printing on the twelve packs are smeared and difficult to enter! The bottle caps have to be held up to the computer screen to see, like a light table. I am not trading any points! I have done this to show this person exactly how much of this product he is consuming! It is a labor of love because it is a pain in the ass! I have entered contests on his behalf. But the real reward I would like to have is the roll about cooler. It is offered on and off! It is a item that is readily available on the Coke fan site for 44.00.
    At the end of the day I have these ends of boxes cluttering my desk I can’t enter!
    The site has my name but I can not enter password! This happens a lot, however there is no work being done on the site.

    Seriously, this is a huge pain! Any one who would spend their time bartering for Coke points – I just don’t know what to say!
    Good luck to you!
    SFW

    Comment by SFW | December 4, 2007

  2. I’m a big diet coke drinker.I save every point I can.
    I collect Coca cola holiday trucks.Always up to this year I got the Speedway Christmas Truck.They stopped making them.
    They had one on my coke rewards that was close to mine.So I ordered one i was so excited when I got it.
    The whole front was gone so by the time cke decided what they were going to The were all gone.Mind you I’m 55 years old and a disabled viet nam vet.I was really heart broken.
    Terry

    Comment by Terry Atkins | January 19, 2008

  3. I have saved enough points for the cooler. Will they offer it again?
    I am sick of this already. I have the beach towel, cute, not of great quality. I would not give it as a gift to some one. Please advise!
    Lori

    Comment by SFW | January 26, 2008


Leave a Reply

