We’ve moved to CHEAPENCOUNTERS.COM!!!

2007 Pumpkin Carving Contest – Vote for Your Favorite!

Close Encounters of the Cheap Kind has a new home at www.CheapEncounters.com!

As part of a recent family tradition, every year we carve pumpkins for Halloween. Each year the entries range from the traditional to the creative to the downright strange.

Pumpkins

As a new twist, we are posting pictures of the pumpkins here and allowing the world to vote for their favorite. Take a look, pick your favorite, and vote for your favorite by posting in the comments below. Voting will close at midnight October 31. Each of us will give you a description of our pumpkin and why you should vote for us in 100 words or less. I won’t tell you which is mine to avoid any bias.

Update 10/23/07: We have a few late entrants from the family back in Louisiana. No descriptions or names were provided, so the pumpkins will have to speak for themselves.

Here goes:


Entry #1: H. R. Puffinstuff

img_0545.jpg

Yeah, that’s right I’ve got a muffin top. I’m just husky and about to have a growthspurt. If you squint your eyes, I resemble a certain person from Ghost Busters. Please vote for me and I need the prize money for FIG.


Entry #2: B. D. Eyes

img_0546.jpg

You might recognize me from a scene in “The Sorcerer’s Stone” or perhaps my cameo in “Hocus Pocus”. I have a classically carved face with wonderfully shaped eyebrows. How can you help but fall in love with my charming smile and cunningly sharp teeth! Hollywood was good, but getting your vote will be better! Vote for me!


Entry #3: Cyclops

img_0549.jpg

CYcloPs!! VOTE FOR STEVEN COLBERT!!!!! CYCloPs!!!!


Entry #4: Scary Mamma Jamma

img_0550.jpg

My pumpkin is pretty awesome without a description and is obviously the best one, so vote for me.


Entry #5: Double Trouble

img_0552.jpg

The inspiration for this carving was our twins who are due any day now. The main face represents the mother and the two smaller faces are our little boy and little girl. I wanted the faces of the kids to look a bit more mischievious, but it is kind of difficult to get that detail on such a small cut. Vote for me!


Entry #6: Jack

download1b.jpg

Star of his own Halloween classic movie, Nightmare Before Christmas.


Entry #7: LSU Eyes

download2b.jpg

We have another evil genius in the family, trying to pander to the audience. GEAUX TIGERS!


Entry #8: Puss-in-Boots

download3b.jpg

Who can resist those pleading eyes? Who wants to?

Editor’s note: Cool, yes. But I smell a stencil!


Entry #9: Stitch

download4b.jpg

An original design, a good example of cosmetic surgery gone bad.


Vote for your favorite now!

October 20, 2007 - Posted by | Off Topic | , , ,

38 Comments

  1. I have to go with “cyclops,” for two reasons: He just looks cool, and who can pass up a Stephen Colbert reference?

    Comment by wes m | October 21, 2007

  2. We moved the pumpkins to the front yard this evening. While we were there, two of other neighbors passed by to cast their votes for Cyclops. Add those to the tally.

    Comment by billyoceanseleven | October 21, 2007

  3. I have to go with Entry #5: Double Trouble. I immediately thought of my two precious grandbabies, even before I read the description.

    Comment by stansbrat | October 21, 2007

  4. I like Entry #4: Scary Mamma Jamma.

    Comment by Stan | October 21, 2007

  5. How could anyone not vote for the mom pumpkin with twins? My vote is for Double Trouble.

    Comment by Grandpa M. Trouble | October 21, 2007

  6. Cyclops – for sure. Scary. Parental guidance required.

    Comment by Ricky W | October 22, 2007

  7. Double Trouble

    Comment by Terry B | October 22, 2007

  8. Scary Mamma Jamma takes the prize. She’s imaginative, thought provoking and I am sure I will have nightmares for the next 2 weeks. AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

    Comment by Randy | October 22, 2007

  9. Shameless ploy Double Trouble. I’m voting for #2. Another shameless ploy, but it got be with the Harry Potter and Hocus Pocus reference.

    Comment by Rachel | October 22, 2007

  10. B. D. Eyes- just for the evil smile!

    Comment by Ameet | October 22, 2007

  11. B.D. Eyes … the friendliest looking pumpkin.

    Comment by Janice D. | October 22, 2007

  12. H.R. Puffinstuff- too cute!

    Comment by Jen | October 22, 2007

  13. #5 Double trouble is my favorite.

    Comment by Christina | October 22, 2007

  14. Cyclops won me over with his support for th Steven Colbert!!!

    Comment by Joshua | October 22, 2007

  15. Can’t go with any other but Double Trouble!! Can’t wait until they come! 🙂

    Comment by Sylvia | October 22, 2007

  16. We vote for Pumkin number 2. We are guessing that the first pumpkin is Bro-in-Law’s, the second is Annihilating Giant’s, the third Billy Ocean’s, the fourths Big Ultra Megadogs, and the fifth pumpkin is Mrs. Billy Ocean’s. How did we do?

    Charlie & Rochelle

    Editor’s note: Edited comment to remove reference to real names.

    Comment by Charlie & Rochelle | October 22, 2007

  17. Double trouble of course!

    Comment by Rina | October 22, 2007

  18. I refuse to be manipulated by my grandchildren. For shame, using innocent babies to get votes. We carved our own pumpkins tonight and want late entries in the competition.

    Comment by mom-in-law | October 22, 2007

  19. Cyclops rocks – very scary and it has a unibrow!

    Comment by Shayla C | October 23, 2007

  20. I believe the Cyclops pumpkin is very impressive. His large eye and unibrow shall strike fear into us all. He has a nice untraditional nose also. I believe he is destined for great things.

    Comment by Corey | October 23, 2007

  21. I vote Cyclops!!!! As he is my favorite Xman I must pay tribute.

    Comment by Steven | October 23, 2007

  22. OK, I must admit, Double Trouble won me over!

    Comment by Midnite | October 23, 2007

  23. Double Trouble has my vote. Very clever.

    Comment by Bee | October 23, 2007

  24. Thanks for adding the obvious winner! A quick run-down of the new entries:
    # 6 Jack – Star of his own Halloween classic movie, Nightmare Before Christmas.
    # 7 LSU eyes – we have another evil genius in the family, trying to pander to the audience.
    # 9 Puss-in-Boots – Who can resist those pleading eyes? Who wants to?
    # 10 Stitch – An original design, a good example of cosmetic surgery gone bad.

    Comment by mom-in-law | October 23, 2007

  25. Um, I think stencil designs are disqualified… Go cyclops!

    Comment by Bro In Law | October 24, 2007

  26. All of you are just jealous that Puss is going to win! Plus there was no stencil, just a picture to copy and my handy electric carver.

    Comment by Rachel | October 24, 2007

  27. Number 8 is very imaginative – it gets my vote!

    Comment by RedMarq | October 24, 2007

  28. puss & boots is great!
    Go #8 (Great job)

    Comment by Dougstew | October 24, 2007

  29. No. 6 is awesome.

    Comment by Southern Smile | October 24, 2007

  30. They are all great, but I have to vote for the Tigers.

    Comment by LSU ALL THE WAY | October 24, 2007

  31. I am suckered in by the double trouble and can’t wait for the real duo to arrive.

    Comment by elizabeth | October 24, 2007

  32. My vote is for #5 JACK

    Comment by Kyle | October 25, 2007

  33. Cyclops is the one.

    Comment by Josh | October 25, 2007

  34. Jack looks awesome.

    Comment by The Real Deal | October 25, 2007

  35. my vote is for stephen “cyclops” colbert

    Comment by krhea | October 25, 2007

  36. See a unique Steven Colbert pumpkin at http://www.fboyz.com
    He’s beating out Fred Thompson and Ted Kennedy so far…

    Comment by Bill | October 26, 2007

  37. Having experience with stiches.I felt my families hearts would reach out for good ol’ STITCH.So hereby and forth with my vote is cast for “STITCH”. The LSU pumpkin is good too.

    Comment by J.Rotolo4 | October 27, 2007

  38. Me and Sarah (5) vote for number 5, Double Trouble. We like the kitty cat but you get point at our house for doing your own thing.

    Tracy in NC

    Comment by Tracy in NC | October 30, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

