We’ve moved to CHEAPENCOUNTERS.COM!!!

The Reservation Rewards Scammers Speak

Close Encounters of the Cheap Kind has a new home at www.CheapEncounters.com!

Just when I thought I wouldn’t have anything interesting to blog about today, I found this comment left on my last posting about the Reservation Rewards scam purportedly from the VP of Customer (dis)Service at Webloyalty.com, the parent of Reservation Rewards. That posting was a follow-up to my original posting here.

Dear Bloggers:

Webloyalty.com protects its reputation and monitors the blogosphere to insure information posted on our company is truthful and accurate. Through this monitoring, we found this blog entitled Chadwicks/Reservation Rewards Scam.

We would like to speak with you directly but do not have your contact information. If you are unhappy with your subscription or have any questions regarding your membership to Reservation Rewards or Shopper Discounts & Rewards, please contact Webloyalty.com Customer Service at either 1-800-732-7031 or send an email message to customerservice@webloyalty.com. One of our customer service representatives will be happy to help you.

If you prefer, please contact me at customerserviceinfo@webloyalty.com

Regards,
Walter Dabek
Vice President
Webloyalty.com Customer Service

If WebLoyalty.com is concerned about its reputation, perhaps they should consider reforming their business practices. If everything is really legit:

  • How is it that a company almost no one has ever heard of has racked up 850 complaints with the BBB?
  • Why are there numerous postings around the web from bloggers about this scam, and how is it that so many people have commented on this blog posting with nearly the exact same story about unauthorized charges for a service they had never heard of or had ever signed up for?
  • Why has this scam been written about by the NY Times, Consumer Reports, and the Rip-Off Report?
  • Why has a class action lawsuit been filed against Webloyalty.com for the same business practices I have described on this blog?

I’m not a lawyer, so I can’t speak to the legality of the tactics used, but in my view and apparently in the view of thousands of users the tactics certainly are deceptive. I have seen the claim occasionally by Webloyalty that they sent email confirmation of the subscription to customers, however I know I never got one. If these notices are sent out, why do so many people report the first they found out about the subscription was when they spotted the charge on their credit card? The purpose of my postings is to serve as a warning to others about the tactics used to get signups and as a reminder of the importance of monitoring one’s financial records for unauthorized charges.

You may like to speak to me, but I don’t want to speak to you. There is no need for me to contact your representatives, as I have already contacted your company to demand my money back. Nothing that can be said by any representative of Webloyalty.com will change the unethical manner in which we were charged for this service.

May 10, 2007 - Posted by | Scams

4 Comments »

  1. […] The first scam posting was about Reservation Rewards. Reservation Rewards is a supposed subscription service that thousands of consumers are unknowingly enrolled in by making purchases at sites such as Chadwicks.com. The victims don’t figure out they have been enrolled until they take a closer look at their credit card statement and see the monthly recurring charges. I posted about this scam here and here, and then posted a response received from them and my rebuttal here. […]

    Pingback by Close Encounters of the Cheap Kind » Blog Archive » Milestone - 10,000 hits! A look back | April 22, 2008

  2. Same thing just happened to me, I was charged yesterday, good thing I check my account online a few times a week. I shall call customer service tomorrow and demand a refund, and threaten to write a letter to the New York State Attorney General. This scam should be taken down.

    Comment by Mark | June 29, 2008

  3. I called the 1-800 number and got a refund. You have to be persistent to get a refund of ALL the charges they’ve made to your account – after you’ve canceled, press 0 and talk to someone. I had no difficulty getting all my money back, but you have to ask and be, as I say, persistent.

    Comment by Ken | July 21, 2008

  4. WHAT IS THE FEDS DOING????????????????????????????

    Comment by Jerry | November 19, 2008


Leave a Reply

