We’ve moved to CHEAPENCOUNTERS.COM!!!

4000 EASY AMEX Reward Points (Retention)

Close Encounters of the Cheap Kind has a new home at www.CheapEncounters.com!

Late last year I applied for and received an AMEX Business Gold Rewards Card. The offer at the time was for 5,000 AMEX Membership Reward Points (redeemable for a $50 gift card), a $100 statement credit, and $150 TigerDirect gift card after your first purchase of $100 or more. A total of $300 in freebies for applying for a credit card. Not bad!

The only catch is that the card has a $125 annual fee, which is waived for the first year only. Not wanting to pay an annual fee on principle, I called AMEX customer service yesterday and was offered an additional 4,000 Membership Reward points to not close the account. As my annual fee renewal isn’t until October, I gladly accepted. I might have to call and try this again in a couple of months to see if I can get it again. =)

I along with several others had issues getting our TigerDirect gift cards off this promotion and when I complained to AMEX they gave me a $150 statement credit to make up for the gift card I hadn’t received. Lo and behold TigerDirect decided to actually honor their end of the deal a few weeks later, so I actually got even more off this offer.

Total loot from this card so far:

$100 statement credit (12/2006)

$50 in AMEX points (12/2006)

$150 statement credit (2/2007)

$150 TigerDirect gift card (3/3007)

$40 in AMEX points (4/2007)

$490 total in bonuses

April 4, 2007 - Posted by | Credit Cards, Customer Service

1 Comment »

  1. Really nice site you have here. I’ve been reading for a while but this post made me want to say 2 thumbs up. Keep up the great work

    Comment by Optimum Nurtition Info Plus | December 20, 2007


Leave a Reply

