We’ve moved to CHEAPENCOUNTERS.COM!!!

Avoid the Post Office When Sending Tax Returns!

Close Encounters of the Cheap Kind has a new home at www.CheapEncounters.com!

I never realized this until I was putting my paper return together today. If you are sending in paper returns to the IRS, you don’t have to use the post service certified mail to send the return with an acceptable proof of mailing. The IRS has authorized DHL, FedEx, and UPS as “Private Delivery Services”. The approved methods for sending a return are as follows:

1. DHL Express (DHL): DHL Same Day Service; DHL Next Day 10:30 am; DHL Next Day 12:00 pm; DHL Next Day 3:00 pm; and DHL 2nd Day Service;

2. Federal Express (FedEx): FedEx Priority Overnight, FedEx Standard Overnight, FedEx 2 Day, FedEx International Priority, and FedEx International First; and

3. United Parcel Service (UPS): UPS Next Day Air, UPS Next Day Air Saver, UPS 2nd Day Air, UPS 2nd Day Air A.M., UPS Worldwide Express Plus, and UPS Worldwide Express.

Taxpayers should still retain proof of mailing to avoid a late filing penalty.

This is great news for me because I owe the IRS a significant sum this year, so there is no way in hell I am sending in my return early, but I hate having to fight the masses and deal with the incompetent postal workers at my local post office (not to say that all postal workers are incompetent, but I’m honestly shocked the ones at my post office don’t drool on themselves). It may cost a little more, but it is well worth it to be able to print the shipping form from my computer and have the UPS guy pick it up with the rest of the items.

http://www.irs.gov/irb/2004-52_IRB/ar10.html

March 22, 2007 - Posted by | Taxes

1 Comment »

  1. […] Avoid the Post Office When Sending Tax R […]

    Pingback by New sponsor and some random thoughts on blogging « Close Encounters of the Cheap Kind | May 3, 2007


Leave a Reply

